Tuesday 8 December 2009

Byrne Group sponsors charity rugby match

A charity rugby match between the English and Irish rugby legends, showcasing some of the biggest names in recent rugby history, is being held at The Twickenham Stoop on the evening of 26 February 2010 (the evening before the England v Ireland match in the 2010 RBS Six Nations Championship).

The legends? teams will compete for the Stuart Mangan Memorial Trophy in aid of the Matt Hampson Trust and Keith Wood?s Paralysed Rugby Players? Fund. The match is being sponsored by Byrne Group PLC, one of the county?s leading specialist construction groups.

The England team will be led by former captain Martin Corry. England?s most-capped player, Jason Leonard, will return to his former home ground to take part. Other 2003 World Cup winning players hoping to take part are Josh Lewsey, Neil Back, Mike Catt, Paul Grayson, Mark Regan and Dorian West, joined by former internationals including: Tim Stimpson, Darren Garforth, Gareth Archer, Phil Greening and Nick Greenstock.

Shane Byrne will lead Ireland?s team, alongside Mick Galwey, Peter ?The Claw? Clohessy, Reggie Corrigan, Victor Costello, Trevor Brennan, Derek McAleese, Maurice Field, John O?Neill, Justin Bishop and the evergreen Rob Henderson ? a 2001 Lion who still plays club rugby.

Michael Byrne from the Byrne Group said: ?This is a great opportunity to see some famous players competing for a really worthy cause. We hope that this fixture will become an annual event and plans are already underway for the return match to be played in Dublin in 2011. May the fittest side win!?

The charity match will take place at Twickenham Stoop on Friday 26 February 2010. Kick off is 7.45pm. Tickets cost ?10 (concessions ?5) for unreserved seating and are on sale now.

Byrne Bros. Powerful Pump